S & R Law Firm
DUIs in Virginia
Being charged with a DUI in Virginia is an incredibly stressful experience. From expensive fines to license suspension and jail time, DUIs can cause major hardships for individuals and families. While it’s easy to become overwhelmed by the negatives of your situation after a DUI charge, it’s important to keep in mind that there are ways to positively impact your case. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, working with an experienced Virginia DUI attorney is in your best interest. S&R Law Firm offers free in-person and phone consultations with qualified criminal defense attorneys to answer your tough questions and help you understand your legal rights. Don’t hesitate to contact us to learn more about your case.DUI Arrests in Virginia
The Commonwealth of Virginia takes drunk driving very seriously. In fact, Virginia is home to some of the country’s strictest drunk driving laws. License revocation, jail time, and expensive fines are not uncommon for DUI offenders, whether they are state residents or receive a DUI in Virginia with an out of state license.
Even a first offense DUI in Virginia is considered a criminal offense. Any DUIs received within 10 years of the first DUI bring mandatory jail time, while a third DUI is considered a felony. Under Virginia law, anyone whose Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is .08 or above will be charged with a DUI, or if the driver is under 21 years old, if their BAC is .02 percent. In addition, under Virginia state statutes 182.-268.3, anyone who refuses to submit to a BAC test will receive a license suspension for one year, and cannot request a restricted license of the court for at least 30 days after the conviction.
In 2018 alone, 19,790 people were convicted of DUIs in Virginia. According to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, drivers charged with a DUI in the state can expect to pay between $5000 and $20,000, depending on the severity of the offense. From lost income and bail expenses to fines, increased car insurance premiums, and legal fees, a DUI brings with it serious expenses.
While many people think working with a DUI attorney in Virginia will be impossible to afford, the reality is that the best DUI lawyers can often help you reduce the hefty costs associated with your case. If you have been charged with a DUI in Virginia S&R Law Firm will provide you with a free consultation, answer your questions, and give you a knowledgeable assessment of your case.Penalties for Virginia DUIs
The penalties incurred for a DUI in Virginia depend largely on the circumstances surrounding your case. Whether you have previous convictions, your BAC at the time of your arrest, and whether you were responsible for the injuries of any victims involved will all play a role in the severity of penalties. The best way to ensure that you get a positive outcome for your case is to work with a lawyer who is familiar with local courts, laws, and has a strong relationship with area judges. Because S&R Law Firm helps area residents fight criminal charges every day, we have extensive experience in these areas.
As far as penalties go, first offense DUIs in Virginia are Class 1 misdemeanors and carry a mandatory minimum $250 fine and a one-year license revocation. In addition, all first offenders are required to participate in an alcohol safety program and use an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for six months if they are granted a restricted license by the court. You will also have a permanent criminal record and six points against your driver’s license.
Second offense DUIs in Virginia carry a $500 mandatory minimum fine. If you were charged with your second DUI within 5 years of your first, you may be punished with jail time from 20 days to one year. If your second DUI occurred between 5 and 10 years after your first, you may be confined to jail for 10 days to one year. Regardless of how long after your first offense your second occurred, if your BAC was between .15 and .20 at the time of your arrest, you will also receive an additional mandatory 10-day jail sentence, or if your BAC was above .2, a 20-day jail sentence, plus a 3-year revocation of your driver’s license. Working with a DUI lawyer serving Virginia can often help you achieve a lesser sentence, depending on the specifics of your situation.
A third DUI in Virginia within 5-10 years is considered a Class 6 felony, carrying a punishment of 1-5 years’ imprisonment, a mandatory minimum fine of $1000, and indefinite revocation of your driver’s license. If all three of your DUIs were within 5 years, you will receive a mandatory minimum 6-month jail sentence. If they were within 5-10 years, you will receive a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 90 days.
In addition to these penalties, if you are found guilty of a DUI in Virginia, you may incur additional charges if children are passengers in your vehicle or if you commit manslaughter. Regardless of whether it is your first offense or your third, DUIs are taken seriously in the Commonwealth of Virginia and it is in your best interest to work with a qualified Virginia DUI lawyer.Get Trusted Legal Help Today
At S&R Law Firm, we have years of experience defending people charged with DUIs in Virginia, and have successfully helped our clients receive lesser sentences. Without working with an attorney, it is extremely difficult to get the best possible outcome for your case. Regardless of the crime you have committed, everyone has legal rights and we are committed to ensuring that yours are upheld.
If you are unsure whether or not you need a lawyer, consulting with a legal team experienced in DUI defense is a strong course of action. It is best to contact a lawyer as soon as possible as there are strict statutes of limitations for responding to DUI charges.
Get in touch with us today for a free consultation at 703.273.6431.